About Faith Based Tourism
Uganda is blessed with many religious sites which have attracted and continue to draw more tourists into the country. We organise tours to:
- The Uganda Martyrs Shrine is a Catholic church dedicated to the Uganda Martyrs. The Shrine’s conical pyramid structure stands out in Namugongo, Wakiso District. It is renowned for its 22 more than 100 feet long copper pillars that support it. Built in the form of an African hut, the church has a capacity of 1,000 seats.
- The Bahá’í House of Worship in Uganda, named as the Mother Temple of Africa, is situated on Kikaya Hill on the outskirts of Kampala. Its architecture and gardens are such an attraction and Its construction started in 1958.
- The Gaddafi Mosque; the colourful structure with its magnificent features of art, was built and designed based on a mixture of Arab, European, and African cultures. Built on Old Kampala Hill, the mosque can be viewed from all corners of Kampala. It is the second biggest mosque in Africa and is also the headquarters of the Uganda Muslim Supreme Council.
- Munyonyo Martyrs’ Shrine; It is the site where four of the famous Uganda Martyrs Andrew Kaggwa, aka Andrea Kahwa, St Denis Ssebuggwawo, St Pontiano Ngondwe and Mukasa Musa (Moses) were killed.It is administered by the community of Conventual Franciscans (Greyfriars) of the Mary Immaculate Mission in Uganda.
- Mackay’s cave, Nateete: popularly known as Empuku ya Makayi, features a colourfully sculpted painting of a white man preaching to several Africans. That man is Alexander Mackay, a pioneer Missionary of the Church Missionary Society, who in the 1800s, fostered the growth of Christianity and formal education in Buganda.
Subsequently, Mackay dug a cave about 150 metres below his quarters where he would hide to teach Christianity and formal education. Just below the cave is a spring dug by Mackay. This is where he could fetch water and was also a source of water for the surrounding villages as he watched over them from the wall engraving.
- Polish Church; Built between 1943 and 1945 by Polish refugees who had been rescued from occupied Poland and settled here during World War, the church in Masindi, is European in style, with Polish Stations of the Cross. The inscriptions on the front are in English, Polish, Runyoro and Latin.The church, also called “Matki Boskiej Czestochowskiej” stands to this day. The local people, not being able to say the Polish name, call it the Church of Mother of God.